My Year in Writing

I took a look back at my novel this week.

I finished the first draft of my first novel ‘Cowards’ about a month ago, after losing my job and finding a bunch of free time to concentrate on writing it. I hadn’t looked at it since I finished and since I was about to send it out for feedback, I knew I needed to add a little more colour to some of the story. It was one of those times when I was pretty nervous about looking at it, would I like it? Would I hate it? Would I read a single sentence and give up on writing completely.

As I started reading it, I began thinking about what I’ve done this year with regards my writing.

To be honest it’s been a good year. As should be obvious from above, I finally finished a draft of my first novel. I’m quite happy with it, sort of, and I’m ready to take the plunge and start properly editing it (which will likely take up most of my time next year).

I also started almost immediately on a second novel, which I’ve begun planning properly.

At the outset of the year I challenged myself to take myself out of my comfort zones and perform things I would never have thought I could perform. In January I went along and did a Bright Club event, where I performed stand up comedy (about Spider-Man) and it seemed to go alright. It was one of the most nerve wracking things I’ve ever done on a stage, I was worried that I looked nervous up there, but was promised by my friend Rob, who came along to watch that, “at least your head wasn’t shaking.”

I’ve had a good year for short stories too, Skin was a runner up in the Manchester Climate Change short story competition, and a few pieces (some performed, some published) were commissioned for Stegocrator, Video Jam amongst others.

So, in the end how do I feel now? I feel like I’ve done what I set out to do this year, I’ve met the goals I set myself and that I’m setting myself up well for what I want to do in 2014 which is get my novel to a publishable standard and begin the long journey of actually having words on a printed page that you all have to pay for.

So, how was your year? Writers, did you meet all of your writing goals this year? Tell me all about them in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Year in Writing

  1. On the plus side I kept my goal of writing some more short horror stories. On the downside everything to do with editing and getting published has kind of gone out the window…

Leave a Reply

