May Events and News

A short update whilst me and Dave Hartley complete our interview with each other about an upcoming anthology that we’re both featured in (you can read part one of that conversation here and you’ll find the final part next week on this blog).

I have a busy month ahead of me, with readings and publications coming out, so I thought it would be good to summerise it here. I also have an Events page on this site where you can find out where I’ll be and all that.

This week, on the 7th, I’ll be performing at Stranger than Fiction,, a literary, comedy, pub quiz mash-up which, as well as featuring me, also features performances from Gemma Weekes, and Scritti Politti member Rhodri Marsden. The theme is First Love, and I’ll be reading a story that has only ever been performed once before, at a wedding. It’s at the Phoenix Artists Club in Soho, and you can find out all the information about the event on Facebook.

A week later, on the 15th I’ll be reading at one of the launches of After the Fall, an anthology of short fiction about the world after the fall of technology. The event takes place in Derby, in their wonderful arts centre: Quad. You can come see us read, talk about our stories, buy the book and then stick around after for a screening of Mad Max. Amazing. I’ve read a huge number of the stories in the anthology and they are absolutely fantastic, some great stuff from Emma Lannie, Simon Sylvester, Dave Hartley, Helen Ellwood and sci-fi legend Adam Roberts. Again, Facebook event here.

after-the-fall-cover-final-page-001

Here’s a preview of the cover art, which is lovely.

Finally, if you miss out on the Derby event, then you can see me reading again from the anthology at The Story Sessions in Hither Green on the 21st. The event description goes as follows:

It’s like a folk club, but with spoken word. Headlining authors and poets read to you, and you join in with

‘Flash from the floor’ -100 words of fiction or poetry, written specially, happening to fit the theme, or scribbled in the interval.

Occasional music, book sales, some silliness, lots of words.

21st May: Technicians’ Tales: Sci Fi and weird stuff

from Catherine Sharpe (read by Carrie Cohen); Cherry Potts, Cliff Chapman, Daniel Carpenter and Liam Hogan, all reading their own work.

That sounds rather exciting, doesn’t it? Tickets are just £3 and you can pick them up here.

So, quite a packed month ahead of me. All that, and I’ll be trying to crack the second chapter in the second draft of my novel.

What are you guys up to? Let me know all of your grand plans and schemes in the comments!

Leave a Reply

